Project Toasty Trogdor – Bonnet

Since Trogdor is my first winter baby, I’ve been thinking almost constantly about keeping him warm.  You’d think after having three babies this sort of wondering and worrying would wear off.  Nope.  That’s ok though.  I have a lot of mom friends, a mother of my own and a mother-in-law, and I’m pretty much surrounded by wonderful women who love each other and jump at the chance to share wisdom and encouragement!

I decided I wanted to make something dragon themed for the little guy, and I came across two patterns I wanted to try.  One was an earflap hat, and the other was a bonnet.  I chose the bonnet because my babies have a history of hats falling off their larger than average heads.  Bonnets have ties, so that seems like a great solution.

Here is the pattern.  It is called “Baby Monstaa’s Very Scary Bonnet”.  I figured it would be simple enough to just call it a dragon bonnet.  I can’t wait to see it on his precious head!

I did end up working the dragon spikes flat using crochet because I wanted them a little edgier and not as round. I don’t remember exactly how I did it.  I should probably start keeping track of that sort of thing!

The main part of the bonnet was made with Cascade Yarns Cascade 220 in colorway 8910 Citron (this is the closest color I could find of the same yarn at the moment.)  This yarn was already in my stash, and I’ve actually had it since before my oldest was born!  I bought it at a cute little yarn shop in Newport, Oregon while I was on a vacation with my parents and husband. I used some to make a mini blanket for my oldest, but had a lot leftover.  I think it was just waiting for this project!  The spikes were made with Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Worsted Weight in color way Winter Night.  This was also stash yarn.  If you are on Ravelry, you can find this project here.

What do you prefer for newborn hats, bonnets or stocking caps?

May your own creating be joyful!

4 thoughts on “Project Toasty Trogdor – Bonnet

Leave a Reply

